Targeted Learning Standards

I have chosen Grade 1 math as my focus for the semester.  I am going to teach summer school and I will have one kindergartner and three first graders.  I don’t know much about my students yet; however I do know the focus of the summer session will be math and reading.  I am hoping to create something that I can put into practice with my summer school students.

Computation and Estimation

Focus: Whole Number Operations

1.4   The student, given a familiar problem situation involving magnitude, will

a)   select a reasonable order of magnitude from three given quantities: a one-digit numeral, a two-digit numeral, and a three-digit numeral (e.g., 5, 50, 500); and

b)   explain the reasonableness of the choice.

1.5          The student will recall basic addition facts with sums to 18 or less and the corresponding subtraction facts.

1.6          The student will create and solve one-step story and picture problems using basic addition facts with sums to 18 or less and the corresponding subtraction facts.

One thought on “Targeted Learning Standards

Leave a Reply

